Virtual Conference Webcasts

ACRL 2017 Virtual Conference webcasts are offered live, allowing participants to interact with presenters in real time.  Webcasts are offered March 22-24, 2017.

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. Eastern (7:00 – 8:00 a.m. Pacific | 8:00 – 9:00 a.m. Mountain | 9:00 -10:00 a.m. Central)
Designing and Implementing an Open Textbook Grant Program: Successes and Challenges
Hear about the process of developing and implementing a grant program to incentivize faculty to adapt open textbooks.
Presenter(s): Claire Nickerson, Learning Initiatives and Open Educational Resources Librarian, Fort Hays State University Forsyth Library
Primary tag: Teaching and Learning

11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Eastern (8:30 – 9:30 a.m. Pacific | 9:30 – 10:30 a.m. Mountain | 10:30 – 11:30 a.m. Central)
Beginning with the End in Mind: Aligning Outreach Activities to Goal-Driven Assessment
How do we ensure our outreach activities are impactful? Determining in advance what impact we want to make dictates what types of events we hold and better assessment leads to a better understanding of the impact of our activities. In this session, learn how to write SMART outreach goals that are tied to your institutional mission and how to apply various assessment techniques that will help you evaluate if your goals are being met.
Presenter(s): Shannon Farrell, Natural Resources Librarian, University of Minnesota -Twin Cities; Kristen Mastel, Outreach & Instruction Librarian, University of Minnesota
Primary tag: Outreach

1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. Eastern (10:00 – 11:00 a.m. Pacific | 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Mountain | 12:00 – 1:00 p.m. Central)
Contracts that Work for You
Make contracts work for you! Get a feel for the various types of non-institutional contracts that librarians are sure to encounter over the course of their careers, including publication agreements, end user license agreements, employment contracts, and more. Understand, negotiate, and improve the provisions and terms of such contracts.
Presenter(s): Michael Rodriguez, Electronic Resources Librarian, University of Connecticut
Primary tag: Professional/Staff Development

2:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. Eastern (11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Pacific | 12:30 – 1:30 p.m. Mountain | 1:30 – 2:30 p.m. Central)
An Emerging Model of Data Literacy Instruction: Teaching Data Competencies in Undergraduate Courses
In this session, we will discuss how the Data Literacy model can be used as an adaptable frame for data instruction services. We will provide an overview of the curriculum developed around data competencies as a suite of instruction available to faculty for integrating in their classes. Attendees will learn to use the framework provided along with methods for analyzing their campus’s needs in order to begin developing instruction that will meet those needs.
Presenter(s): Peace Ossom Williamson, Director for Research Data Services, The University of Texas at Arlington; Gretchen Trkay, Department Head, Experiential Learning and Undergraduate Research, The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries
Primary tag: Teaching and Learning

Thursday, March 23, 2017

10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. Eastern (7:00 – 8:00 a.m. Pacific | 8:00 – 9:00 a.m. Mountain | 9:00 -10:00 a.m. Central)
Digital Badges Exposed: Technology Behind a Library Badges Program
Our academic library has issued thousands of digital badges to students for mastering basic library concepts using tutorials with built-in assessment and our Learning Management System – no manual grading required! Students earn a badge for each tutorial completed with a 100% score (repeatable), and both librarians and faculty may track their progress. Learn how we did it, and let’s discuss how to choose the technologies to structure a sustainable badges progra.  In this interactive session, learn about effective design and technology for a badges program, including identifying learning objectives and activities that would work well in a badges program and analyzing their campus’ learning infrastructure to identify potential opportunities for embedding automated library learning activities.
Presenter(s): Lindsay O’Neill, Instructional Design Librarian, California State University Fullerton
Primary tag: Teaching and Learning

11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Eastern (8:30 – 9:30 a.m. Pacific | 9:30 – 10:30 a.m. Mountain | 10:30 – 11:30 a.m. Central)
Up and Running with Bento: Implementing bento search with a new discovery service and homepage update, all in a semester
Migrating to a new discovery service gave us the opportunity to completely rethink how we were delivering search results. This presentation will cover why we decided to implement a bento search, how we were able to create it in a semester, how it affected our discovery service implementation, library catalog, and homepage design as well. We will share code and techniques we used to create the bento search, including APIs, screen-scraping, Google and Drupal.
Presenter(s): Laura Wiegand, Associate Director, Library Information Technology and Digital Strategies, University of North Carolina Wilmington; Jason Fleming, Information Technology Librarian, University of North Carolina Wilmington
Primary tag: Technology and Tools

1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. Eastern (10:00 – 11:00 a.m. Pacific | 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Mountain | 12:00 – 1:00 p.m. Central)
All Hands on Deck: Launching Students toward Research Success
This webcast will show how a large urban university library system integrates the ACRL Framework threshold concepts at touchpoints with undergraduates in order to launch students to success beyond their academic life. It will feature three case studies, in which we utilize the threshold concepts, showcase active learning, and leverage technology. Cross-disciplinary collaborations between librarians, faculty, and instructional designers will be highlighted.
Presenter(s): Becky Leporati, Digital Literacy Fellow, University of Cincinnati; Pamela Bach, Undergraduate Research and Teaching Librarian, University of Cincinnati Libraries; Robert Freeman, Coordinator of eLearning, University of Cincinnati; Olga Hart, Coordinator of Instruction, University of Cincinnati
Primary tag: Teaching and Learning

2:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. Eastern (11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Pacific | 12:30 – 1:30 p.m. Mountain | 1:30 – 2:30 p.m. Central)
Taking the Helm: Developing a Creative, Focused, and Accountable Writing Practice
Are you “at sea” when it comes to understanding the ins and outs of writing and publishing? Do you struggle with finding ideas or developing them into practical projects? In this hands-on workshop, we will explore ways to enhance productivity, creativity, focus, and accountability with time management techniques and exercises that will help you set course, get started, and develop momentum. You’ll gain fresh perspective, (re)gain confidence, and (re)discover the pleasure of the process.
Presenter(s): Susanne Markgren, Assistant Director, Technical Services, Manhattan College; Linda Miles, Assistant Professor – Librarian, Hostos Community College/City University of New York
Primary tag: Professional/Staff Development

4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Eastern (1:00 – 2:00 p.m. Pacific | 2:00 – 3:00 p.m. Mountain | 3:00 – 4:00 p.m. Central)
Learning the Ropes: Establishing an “Art in the Library” Program
Looking for an easy, cost-effective way to update your library’s style, display visual collections, and create long-term partnerships?  An “art in the library” program may be just the solution! In this fun and informative session, co-chairs of this university library’s art program will help you discover the benefits of bringing art to your academic library.  Learn how to partner with campus and community, attract new audiences to your space, and spice up your study areas!
Presenter(s): Paige Barreto, Outreach & Marketing Librarian, University of Wisconsin-Parkside; Melissa Olson, Head of Archives and Digital Initiatives Librarian, University of Wisconsin-Parkside
Primary tag: Outreach

Friday, March 24, 2017

10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. Eastern (7:00 – 8:00 a.m. Pacific | 8:00 – 9:00 a.m. Mountain | 9:00 -10:00 a.m. Central)
Resteering the Standards: Revisiting ACRL Diversity Standards & Cultural Competencies
The ACRL Diversity Committee has been tasked with revising the ACRL Diversity Standards. The feedback gathered from a survey initiated in the summer of 2015 presented key issues currently missing from the standards. This webcast will discuss the implications of revising the Diversity Standards, share new and revised concepts and terminology, and have participants critically examine their own work institutions and its commitment to diversity, equity, and social justice.
Presenter(s): Kenny Garcia, Research and Instruction Librarian, California State University – Monterey Bay; Tarida Anantachai, Learning Commons Librarian, Syracuse University Libraries; Martha Parker, Digital Services Librarian, University of Arkansas at Fayetteville; Megan Watson, Information Literacy Librarian, University of Alaska Southeast
Primary tag: Professional/Staff Development

11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Eastern (8:30 – 9:30 a.m. Pacific | 9:30 – 10:30 a.m. Mountain | 10:30 – 11:30 a.m. Central)
The Iron Triangle: The Library and Affordable Education Initiatives
Access, Quality, and Cost are the “Iron Triangle” representing the trade offs of affordable education resources. You can’t address one side of this “triangle” without impacting the other two. Drawing upon a proprietary survey of over 500 faculty related to OER and other research and survey data from librarians, we explore the library’s role in helping break the triangle – from three different perspectives: the library content provider, an education technology/publisher and a research library director.
Presenter(s): Will Cross, Director of Copyright & Digital Scholarship, North Carolina State University Libraries; Karen McKeown, Director Discovery and Analytics, Gale, a part of Cengage Learning; Mike Matousek, Director Library Relations, Cengage Learning, Cengage Learning
Primary tag: Access Services

1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. Eastern (10:00 – 11:00 a.m. Pacific | 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Mountain | 12:00 – 1:00 p.m. Central)
Transforming Hidden Collections for Teaching and Learning: Four Libraries and their Journey into Digitization
In 2015, Council of Independent Colleges (CIC) forty-two member libraries joined the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation funded Consortium on Digital Resources for Teaching and Research. This Consortium seeks to improve teaching and learning, creating collaborative research opportunities through offering access to Shared Shelf, a digital asset storage and content delivery management system. This panel showcases four Consortium member institutions with panelists offering their Consortium experiences related to creating and implementing digitization projects.
Presenter(s): Danielle Dion, Director of De Paul Library, University of Saint Mary; Cynthia Dudenhoffer, Director of Information Resources, Central Methodist University; Shaunna Hunter, Interim Library Director, Hampden-Sydney College; Lizah Ismail, Director of the Library/Assistant Professor, Limestone College
Primary tag: Teaching and Learning