I am taking advantage of the virtual conference after ACRL 2011, since it was impossible to get to all the great presentations while I was there. Thanks!
John Meier
Penn State University
network

Virtual Conference Webcasts

ACRL 2015 Virtual Conference webcasts are offered live, allowing participants to interact with presenters in real time.  Webcasts are offered March 25-27, 2015.

Wednesday, March 25, 2015

8:30 - 9:30 AM Pacific | 9:30 - 10:30 AM Mountain | 10:30 - 11:30 AM Central | 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM Eastern
Make Your Collections Active NOW
Library collections tell stories that need to be told.  Demonstrated through a case study, this presentation reveals ways in which you can activate your collections which in turn provides you with the opportunity to promote library initiatives, resources, and services.  Additional examples and ideas about generating interest in your collections, inspiring faculty and student collaboration, and taking your collections to the next level by activating your collections will be discussed.
Presenter(s): Audrey Powers, Associate Librarian, University of South Florida
Primary Tag: Collections | #activecollections

10:00 AM - 11:00 AM Pacific | 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM Mountain | 12:00 - 1:00 PM Central | 1:00 - 2:00 PM Eastern
Spreading the Word, Sharing the Love: The Practice and Ethos of Library Information Sharing Today
Interlibrary loan offers an excellent example of successful library cooperation and collaboration. ILL librarians share information about using technology, building trust and support, and accessing information through and beyond traditional ILL. This webinar will highlight two successful examples of spreading the word about effective library information sharing, the Rethinking Resource Sharing Initiative and ALA RUSA STARS Policy Committee’s STAR Checklist and the IDS Project’s Online Learning Institute.
Presenter(s): Tom Bruno, Associate Director for Resource Sharing and Reserves, Yale University
Primary Tag: Professional/Staff Development | #spreadwordsharelove

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM Pacific | 12:30 - 1:30 PM Mountain | 1:30 - 2:30 PM Central | 2:30 - 3:30 PM Eastern
Sustainability, Fidelity, and Transparency: Designing Digital Badges for Information Literacy That Have All Three
You don’t have to tell librarians that in a highly-networked society, information literacy skills are vital for college graduates. But what do employers value? How do they know undergraduates have these often-assumed skills?  Presenters will discuss research findings about employers’ most-valued information literacy skills, if employers will embrace digital badges, and how we used this data to develop our badges. Participants will share their ideas about the role of badges through polling and chat.
Presenter(s): Emily Rimland, Sally W. Kalin Librarian for Learning Innovations, Penn State; Victoria Raish, Ph.D. Candidate in Learning, Design, and Technology, Penn State
Primary Tag: Teaching & Learning | #ILdigitalbadges

1:00 -2:00 PM Pacific | 2:00 -3:00 PM Mountain | 3:00 - 4:00 PM Central | 4:00 - 5:00 PM Eastern
What Librarians are Experiencing in Formal Mentoring Relationships?
As novice and mid-career librarians transition in their careers, how can they navigate the terrain of library culture, tenure, promotion, publishing, leadership, and networking? Mentoring. What are librarians’ experiences in formal mentoring relationships? In 2014, librarians that previously participated in a formal mentoring program volunteered to complete the Mentorship Effectiveness Scale and Mentorship Profile Questionnaire. The mentoring relationship findings are synthesized to address librarians’ professional impact as a result of their experience.
Presenter(s): Alys Jordan, Head of Research, Instruction, & Outreach Services, University of Alaska, Fairbanks
Primary Tag: Leadership & Management | #4alMentorRelshp

Thursday, March 26, 2015

8:30 - 9:30 AM Pacific | 9:30 - 10:30 AM Mountain | 10:30 - 11:30 AM Central | 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM Eastern
Killing It with Kindness: Incorporating Sustainable Assessment through Kindness Audits
Learn how to design and conduct a kindness audit, a low-cost and high-reward assessment method that helps librarians examine barriers to library services and spaces through a user experience lens. Varying methods for kindness audits, lessons learned, and suggestions for identifying and implementing low-cost improvements for library spaces and services, will all be discussed.
Presenter(s): Jessica Olin, Director of the Parker Library, Wesley College; Joe Hardenbrook, Reference & Instruction Librarian, Carroll University Library
Primary Tag: Assessment | #acrlkindness

10:00 AM - 11:00 AM Pacific | 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM Mountain | 12:00 - 1:00 PM Central | 1:00 - 2:00 PM Eastern
Systematic Literature Review Methods For Topics In The Humanities
Systematic review methods (SRM) offer possibilities for increasing the rigor of and confidence in “reviews of the literature”. SRM have been widely adopted in the health and social sciences. Learn about SRM, about SRM in the humanities, and about resources and a specific SRM framework for humanities research that might be adapted for library instruction, research consultation, personal research, or for librarian use as a member of a research team.
Presenter(s): Paul Fehrmann, Librarian, Kent State University; Michael Hawkins, Librarian, Kent State University
Primary Tag: Teaching & Learning

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM Pacific | 12:30 - 1:30 PM Mountain | 1:30 - 2:30 PM Central | 2:30 - 3:30 PM Eastern
Create a Diverse Library Community: Write Your Own Path Toward a Sustainable 21st Century Library Residency
Virtual Conference, Room Online
Create a diverse library community! Learn about the research project that two academic librarians embarked upon which is now informing librarians and administrators about the best practices in starting and improving such programs across the nation. Discover how library residency programs can play an integral part in the recruitment, retention and diversity initiatives in the profession.
Presenter(s): Angela Boyd, Reference Services Librarian, UC Santa Barbara; Yolanda Blue, Special Collections Librarian, UC Santa Barbara
Primary Tag: Professional/Staff Development

1:00 -2:00 PM Pacific | 2:00 -3:00 PM Mountain | 3:00 - 4:00 PM Central | 4:00 - 5:00 PM Eastern
Pins, Smores and Doodles: 15 Creative Ways to use 5 Social Sharing Tools
This poster session will demonstrate ways Pinterest (interest boards), Smore (flyer design), Doodle (online scheduling), Piktochart (infographics) and Bunkr (online presentations) can be utilized by librarians to take the lead on campus with the latest technology and connect the library with the campus community.
Presenter(s): Abigail Stambach, Coordinator of Reference Services, The Sage Colleges; Lauren Puzier, Reference & Cataloging Librarian, Sotheby's Institute of Art
Primary Tag: Technology | #acrlpins

Friday, March 27, 2015

8:30 - 9:30 AM Pacific | 9:30 - 10:30 AM Mountain | 10:30 - 11:30 AM Central | 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM Eastern
Big Read, Big Benefits: Creating Sustainable Partnerships Across Communities
Has your library’s community outreach become stagnant? This university library took a leap of faith and applied for an NEA Big Read grant--and the results were beyond what they could have ever imagined. Learn how to promote leadership, get out of your comfort zone, and build sustainable relationships across communities--faculty, staff, and students, local businesses and organizations, and even within the library--that help patrons engage with the library more than ever before.
Presenter(s): Paige Mano, Academic Librarian - Social Media Coordinator, University of Wisconsin-Parkside; Melissa Olson, Digital Initiatives Librarian, University of Wisconsin-Parkside; Anne Rasmussen, Continuing Resources and Copyright Librarian, University of Wisconsin-Parkside; Heather Spencer, Access Services Technology Coordinator, University of Wisconsin-Parkside
Primary Tag: Public Services

10:00 AM - 11:00 AM Pacific | 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM Mountain | 12:00 - 1:00 PM Central | 1:00 - 2:00 PM Eastern
Developing an Ecosystem of Engaged Learners
Our new student orientation has evolved for the past twelve years as a sustainable and dynamic program reaching over 4,000 students over the course of 23 days. A modified version of this model is used for international students. This visual interactive presentation provides tips for orientation logistics, activities, and ways to involve students in planning and delivery. Data on international and domestic students’ high school research habits gathered during orientation will be shared.
Presenter(s): Olga Hart, Coordinator of Instruction, University of Cincinnati; Pamela Bach, Associate Librarian, University of Cincinnati; Deborah Tenofsky, Head, Research, Teaching, and Services, University of Cincinnati
Primary Tag: Sustainability | #activeorientation

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM Pacific | 12:30 - 1:30 PM Mountain | 1:30 - 2:30 PM Central | 2:30 - 3:30 PM Eastern
The Pitfalls, Potential, and Promise of Oral History Collections in the Digital Age
This panel discusses privacy issues, technological innovations and ways to foster interdisciplinary collaboration with teaching faculty using oral history collections. Panelists will discuss trends in libraries revolving around ethical stewardship and online privacy, innovative tools for accessing oral history content, and the use of oral histories as primary sources and course projects.
Presenter(s): Jaycie Vos, Coordinator of Collections, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Krista White, Digital Humanities Librarian, Rutgers University - Newark Campus; Barbara Lewis, Digital Initiatives & Services Coordinator, University of South Florida
Primary Tag: Collections

1:00 -2:00 PM Pacific | 2:00 -3:00 PM Mountain | 3:00 - 4:00 PM Central | 4:00 - 5:00 PM Eastern
Racing to Learn: Engaging first year students by gaming library instruction
Make library instruction sessions exciting by having the first year students play the Research Race game! This active learning activity teaches basic information literacy skills but is sustainable by being able to be adapted to the needs of any course without a lot of effort. Attendees will have an opportunity to play a brief game virtually and leave with ideas on how to adapt it to the needs of their classes.
Presenter(s): Ngoc-Yen Tran, Outreach & Student Engagement Librarian, University of Oregon; Miriam Rigby, Social Sciences Librarian, University of Oregon
Primary Tag: Teaching & Learning